Turningpoint

For me and my English Education cohort, today is a turningpoint of sorts.  It is our last day of on-campus class until after our 2 week November Units are completed.  I will be teaching a performance-based unit on a prose retelling of Romeo and Juliet, which I will be posting some of my lessons from on this blog in the near future.

 I just can’t believe that so much time has passed by.  This very exhausting semester is winding down, and I feel more and more like a “real” teacher every day.  I’m grateful that I have the MT that I do.  It seems like we are going through some of the same anxieties that accompany change.  The future is like a “big gray” cloud, and, quite frankly, we’re both more than a little scared.  She’s facing grad school and searching for a new job, while I’m facing the daunting process of finding my first teaching job.

 Yesterday, I started going over all the nitpicky things of creating a quality resumé.  The paperwork is exciting, but scary at the same time.  I can’t wait until all of that is over and I’m at the interviewing stage.  I’m trying to keep my job search pretty broad, considering multiple counties around where my parents live and between where I live and Athens.  So far, this is my list of school districts in which I would like to work in order of preference:

1. Houston County 2. Bibb County 3. Washington County 4. Baldwin County

So there is all of that application stuff, but I’m also looking at planning my ten week student teaching units during my November Unit.  I know that I’ll be teaching Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart and Medea.  Ideally, I would also like to figure out some way to tie an inquiry project into that, but I’m still working on how nicely that would all tie together and segue nicely into one another.  I’m excited and hopeful about that ten week period, though.

This entry was posted in English Education, Student Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

