Presenting at GCTE in February

I think I’m really going to do it.  I had initially planned to present something along the lines of reading comprehension strategies for low-level 7-12 students, but, as a lowly student teacher, I don’t feel experienced enough yet.  Instead, I’m going to tackle something with a little less pressure attached to it: Young Adult Literature.  I don’t think it’s a big surprise, considering how ambivalent I tend to be toward “The Canon.”

What I plan to do is introduce why Young Adult Literature is important in the middle school and high school classroom, how it can be included within an English curriculum at these levels and how to keep up with and access YA Lit novels using journals and the Internet.

I just returned from the library with some nice print resources that I’m going to draw from in preparation for my presentation and accompanying paper.  These are definitely great resources for the English teacher curious about YA lit and how to incorporate it into the classroom. 

Herz, Sarah K. and Donald R. Gallo. From Hinton to Hamlet: Building Bridges between Young Adult Literature and the Classics.  Second Edition. (2005)

Monseau, Virginia R. and Gary M. Salvner, Eds. Reading their World: The Young Adult Novel in the Classroom.  (1992)

A great online resource is The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents, an organization who publishes a Young Adult Literature journal called the ALAN Review.  The ALAN Review publishes articles about the genre or YA Literature as well as book reviews of newly published YA novels.

This entry was posted in English Education, Reading Resources, Secondary Education, YA Literature, YA Literature Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Presenting at GCTE in February

  1. rachel says:

    your block of character is outstanding!

  2. Tricia McDermott says:

    Hello-
    I think your blog is fantastic. You have some great ideas and seem to be patient with the students who need it. I can attest that there are many teachers who are not and never will be. I am a second year English Teacher in Las Vegas, I teach Freshman Honors and Regular. I love them all.
    I also have done the NaNoWri for the past 3 years. It was hard to fit it in this year but it’s awesome, you should try it next year. It’s amazing how much you can write when you dedicate the time. If you have any questions or comments please email me.

  3. minerva66 says:

    I found your site looking for reviews of Eva by Peter Dickinson which I just finished reading. I didn’t find the review but am enjoying your discussion.

    I’m particularly intrigued by the idea of paring books, whether it’s classics with YA literature or fiction and nonfiction or just similar books. I love the idea of exploring themes this way with literature.

    As a homeschool teacher, I have mostly stayed away from canon. I don’t think anymore that it is the best literature for kids. Instead, I pick many books from the library, and my kids mostly choose from what I bring home. Now that two of my kids are mature teens, however, I am trying to push some classics, because they tend to have more complex language and deal with subjects not necessarily approached elsewhere. They need a challenge to progress, so they are also moving into adult books. Along with this, I am working on 2 running lists of adult & YA books. One to challenge teens, the other for interested adults. I call them Horizons and YA Horizons, with links on my website. I am always open to recommendations.

Leave a Reply

