English Language Arts GACE Test

So, I can’t help but notice that the majority of my visitors come here frantically searching for something related to the GACE (Georgia Assessment for the Certification of Educators) test.  While my experience of the test was that it was not very difficult, I did go into it having just completed an English degree and in the process of completing an English Education program. Recently, a friend asked me to create a mini-study guide of topics to be familiar with before taking the English portion of the GACE test.

Visit the GACE site

Please, note: I have no way of knowing what specific questions and/or topics will appear in upcoming GACE tests and your test, in particular. The GACE website probably provides the best preparation material.

Know thy standards

If necessary, you should also familiarize yourelf with the Common Core GPS (Georgia Performance Standards). Their guidance documents and unit models, especially, provide much insight for the types of content area skills, literary techniques, vocabulary, genres, time periods, etc. you will be expected to know and, hopefully, teach. Standards constantly change, so if you haven’t been in the classroom for a while, it would behoove you to do some brushing up.

Current ELA standards, for example, emphasize listening, speaking and viewing and include media literacy goals absent from more traditional, 20th century ELA curriculum models. The GACE test I took included several questions on viewing strategies, methods of persuasion and logical fallacies. In my experience, anyway, they test did not many include questions pertaining to educational psychology or theory (except, perhaps, some extremely common names and concepts, like Vygotsky and contructivism).

Take this boon

All that said, I encourage you to check out my English GACE Review. May the odds be ever in your favor!

Updated: 11/06/2012

This entry was posted in Education, English Education, English Teachers, GACE, Public Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to English Language Arts GACE Test

  1. Brenda says:

    I ordered a much advertised GACE study guide which was expensive and I have very disappointed. Not only are there a multitude of typos in it, but inconsistencies and incorrect information on authors. Also, there are no practice questions. Very disappointing.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Thank-you so much for this overview. I’ve been debating as to what will be on the test and if I should buy the study book(which apparently I shouldn’t). Now I have a jumping off block.

  3. HA says:

    The very short study guide you have posted was great! Inverted pyramid was on the January 10th exam a lot!

    Thank you,
    Helen Adeosun

  4. I can tell that this is not the first time at all that you mention this topic. Why have you decided to write about it again?

  5. Future GA Teacher says:

    Your Gace Review is great!
    R

  6. clawie says:

    thank you for this post! been looking tips for GACE exams since last month but i only stumbled a few, one of it was http://nurses-nclex.ph though it was more on a general perspective of taking a review. thanks a lot , now finally i found one related to GACE

  7. Jimmy says:

    I’ve searched everywhere for some helpful info about the English GACE. This study guide was great. Thanks!

    For others out there preparing for the test, I also found this blog by someone that took the English GACE and posted many of their study resources (including this blog). Very helpful as well!

    http://paperorpixels.blogspot.com/2010/06/gace-english-test.html

    I found it pretty helpful.

  8. Christine says:

    Thank you so much for this study guide! This is going to make my studying so much easier. Also, thanks for the extra resources, Jimmy!

  9. Cheryl says:

    I just took the GACE English Exams I and II today and generally felt I did very well. HOWEVER, somehow rather than writing “inverted pyramid,” in one of the essays, I wrote “upside down pyramid”! because the term wouldn’t come to me, and from test fatigue wrote that Tennyson’s poetry was late Renaissance rather than Victorian in another essay. How much do you think readers will take off for these inaccuracies in the mini-essays?

  10. Pingback: GACE Test | Curious Incident of the Teacher in the Classroom

Leave a Reply

